Should I leave my dream for USMLE because of its cost & long duration of process?

My answer to Should I leave my dream for USMLE because of its cost & long duration of process?

I like this question, something that resonates with most IMGs !

It’s said..’ Intelligence without ambition is like a bird without wings’

If you have a dream go for it, find everything about it, find your real reason for going to US than staying back. Hint: It should never be money, that’s perishable and doesn’t inspire you to go to work everyday in a new country. The reason should be something that inspires you emotionally.

Having said that, yes USMLE takes up comparatively more time than home country PG entrance if you think it that way and start late i.e after passing MBBS. Start early and its is not long.

Yes, there is comparatively more cost involved than home country PG, but money is as I mentioned a means to an end. Loan it from friends/family/bank if you have the dream to practice in USA. If you donot want to practice in US don’t waste money and time, do your home country PG and stay back.

If you are doing USMLE for the prestige or money, I won’t say go ahead.You are in Medicine field- everything will take time-money, your clinical practice; have patience.

Take time, decide and go for it. Goodluck!

Should I leave my dream for USMLE because of its cost & long duration of process?

Leave a Reply

